Visitors can enjoy a beautiful view of the impressive two-tower church of St. Jakobi from Hohe Graben. Construction of today's St. Jakobi Church began in about 1280. A meanwhile faded inscription identifies the figure of an emperor in the arch recess in the north portal as Heinrich VII. An inscription also gives the year of compleiton of the church as 1363. The theme of an unequal pair is taken in the impressive tower complex completed in 1418. After the Reformation, the church appears to have only been used sporadically. It lost almost all its fittings during the last century.
St. Jakobi Church was comprehensively restored between 1992 and 2004 with the financial support of the State of Thuringia, the "Urban Monument Conservation" federal and state programme and the German Monument Conservation Foundation. Since April 2004, the municipal library, with a children's library and phonotheque, have had their home in St. Jakobi Church. Interesting for visitors are the so-called "Archaeological Windows" which illustrate the architectural history of the church.
The municipal library can be visited during its opening hours and during a guided tour of the Old Quarter, which can be arranged via Tourist Information, tel. +49 (0)3601- 40 47 70.