Palace and Park Tiefurt
The 21-hectare Tiefurt Palace Park is located 4 kilometres to the east of Weimar’s town centre on the outskirts of the village of Tiefurt – now part of Weimar – on both sides of the river Ilm. The park sections on the two river banks could hardly be more different. In front of the former demesne building, there are gently sloping meadows with attractive tree groups, whereas the east bank has a steep slope densely covered with trees, providing the inner park with a delightful framework. The first countryside sections were laid out by Prince Constantine, the youngest son of Duchess Anna Amalia, from 1776 onwards, together with his tutor Karl Ludwig von Knebel and the painter Adam Friedrich Oeser. This area was extended to its present size under Anna Amalia. The Tiefurt Palace Park is also enhanced by a number of garden landscape features.
UNESCO World Heritage Site
Together with Tiefurt Palace, the palace park is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site entitled "Classic Weimar", which, as unique testimony to the cultural epoch of Weimar Classic, reflects the outstanding role of Weimar as an intellectual centre in the late 18th and early 19th century.
Further UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Thuringia can be found at unesco.thueringen-entdecken.de.