Palace and Park Tiefurt
Tiefurt Palace was built in 1765 as a tenant's house and extended in 1776 to become a royal country residence. Until 1781, it was the home of Prince Friedrich Ferdinand Constantin and then served Duchess Anna Amalia as a summer residence. She arranged for the extension of the English countryside park laid out by her predecessor. Today the park with its many monuments and architectural features is just waiting to be explored. The highlight of every visit to the palace is the Cold Kitchen with its historic show meals made of porcelain, wax and papier maché.
UNESCO World Heritage Site
Tiefurt Palace and its park is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site entitled "Classic Weimar", which, as unique testimony to the cultural epoch of Weimar Classic, reflects the outstanding role of Weimar as an intellectual centre in the late 18th and early 19th century.
Further UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Thuringia can be found at unesco.thueringen-entdecken.de.