Monastery Ruins of Paulinzella
Discover the beauty of the Romanesque in the monastery ruins in Paulinzella. The ruins of the church belonging to the former Benedictine monastery stand very picturesquely yet impressive in size in the small village of Paulinzella (Community of Rottenbach) between Rudolstadt and Stadtilm at the foot of the Thuringian Forest. Founded at the beginning of the 12th century by Paulina (around 1067-1107), the daughter of a high-ranking royal official, and then called Marienzella, the monastery soon grew to a substantial size. With the Reformation in 1534, the Benedictine monastery was dissolved completely. To provide visitors with more information, there is a museum in the hunting lodge, not far from the ruined monastery. With 350 m² of exhibition space, it shows the history of Paulinzella monastery, refers to the significance of use of the forest and traces the development of hunting and forestry in the Principality of Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt. Individual visitors can hire an electronic guide (iPod) in the Tourist-Information, which will supply them with detailed information about the life of Paulina, the founder of the monastery, the architecture and the creation of the monastery and about hunting and forestry in the Principality of Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt.