Ducal Tomb in Weimar
By order of Grand Duke Carl August, this tomb for the ducal family was built from 1824 - 1827. Clemens Wenzeslaus Coudray designed a plain rectangular building with an octagonal cupola above it. In the burial vault lie the remains of Duke Wilhelm IV (1598-1662) and his descendants. In 1827, Schiller's body was buried in the vault below the chapel room and in 1832 Goethe was also laid to rest here. The oak sarcophagi of the two poets were constructed in line with a design by Coudray. In 1860-62, a Russian Orthodox chapel was added as the last resting place of Grand Duchess Maria Pavlovna, who came from Russia.
UNESCO World Heritage Site
The royal tomb and the historic cemetery are part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site entitled "Classic Weimar", which, as unique testimony to the cultural epoch of Weimar Classic, reflects the outstanding role of Weimar as an intellectual centre in the late 18th and early 19th century.
Further UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Thuringia can be found at unesco.thueringen-entdecken.de